According to Google, as early as February 4th, changes will start occurring on Google+. On that date, users will no longer be able to create new profiles, pages, communities, or events. If you’re the owner of any of these different outlets, you’ll be able to download your data. in March 2019, other forms of data such as author, body, and photos for public communities will be available for download.
This isn’t the worst of it, by any means, mind you. That starts on April 2nd. On April 2nd, Google will begin deleting all comments from Google+ along with all content that’s been uploaded to the service, including photos and videos. If you want to save those precious memories, you can download them. The company advises to do so before April, however.
Google says the process of deleting data from Google+ will take a few months, and content that’s been uploaded to the service may still be visible for a few months after the shutdown initially takes place. In addition, Google+ sign-on buttons will also begin disappearing over the coming months, with some being replaced by standard Google sign-on buttons.
It’s important to note none of this matters if you’re a G Suite customer. Google says your accounts on Google+ will remain active and the service should survive. It’s the consumer side of the network that’s being shut down in this case.
Regardless, it’s about time we see Google+ finally die off. Personally, I think it’s been a long time coming, and and it’s probably for the best that its deprecation starts as early as next week.