NBC Will Air SNL Live in All US Timezones Starting April 15th

NBC will air Saturday Night Live in all four US timezones live starting April 15th, the first time the network will do so in the show’s 42-year history. The final four episodes of the current season will be broadcast in this fashion, with the motive behind the change, according to NBC Entertainment Chairman Robert Greenblatt, being so “everyone is in on the joke at the same time” (via The Daily Beast).

SNL — enjoying its most popular season in two decades — is part of the national conversation, and we thought it would be a great idea to broadcast to the west and mountain time zones live at the same time it’s being seen in the east and central time zones,” NBC Entertainment Chairman Robert Greenblatt, Chairman said in a statement. “That way, everyone is in on the joke at the same time. Kudos to Lorne Michaels, the producers and cast for making SNL one of the most relevant and anticipated shows in the zeitgeist.”

Hosts for the final four episodes include Tonight Show host Jimmy Fallon, Chris Pine, Melissa McCarthy, and Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson. Musical guests haven’t been announced yet, but let’s cross our fingers that Justin Timberlake makes it in the lineup at some point.

There’s no guarentee that season 43 will be broadcast at the same time across the country in the fall, but we’ve reached out to NBC for clarity and will update this article when we get a response.